The Conservative Tradition

Course No. 4812
Professor Patrick N. Allitt, Ph.D.
Emory University
Share This Course
4.6 out of 5
82 Reviews
95% of reviewers would recommend this product
Course No. 4812
Streaming Included Free

Course Overview

Preserving the traditions and values of the past and applying them to the future—this is the core of the Conservative attitude. While the development of Conservatism has followed different arcs in the United States and Great Britain, this rich and fascinating political tradition has decisively impacted the evolution of both nations and their grand political institutions.

Conservatism has become a critical part of Western world thinking since its origins in the late 17th-century's Glorious Revolution, when royal power was curbed and Parliament became the central feature of the British political system. Since then, it has gone on to play an influential role in shaping the course of British—and later American—history.

In our own country, this philosophy has become one of the two dominant ideologies of our modern political tradition. A thorough understanding of Conservatism's lineage, principles, and impact on history is essential to making sense of the 21st-century political dialogue—a dialogue that consumes the television you watch, the newspapers you read, and the radio you listen to.

No matter where you place yourself on the ideological spectrum, the 36 lectures of Professor Patrick Allitt's The Conservative Tradition will intrigue you, engage you, and maybe even provoke you to think about this political philosophy in an entirely new way.

Explore the Growth of Conservatism

Stability may well be the greatest shared element of both Conservatism and modern Liberalism. The United States has now been without a revolution for more than 200 years and Britain for more than 300 years—even though nearly every other industrialized nation has been forced to undergo that traumatic national ordeal, sometimes more than once.

In crafting his exploration of just why this has happened, Professor Allitt has specifically designed his lectures to be objective, neutral, and intellectually satisfying for every viewer and listener—whatever their ideological outlook.

Using an easygoing and engaging style, he shows you

  • how Anglo-American Conservatism developed and evolved in both Great Britain and the United States;
  • how traditional Conservatism produced evolutionary variants like Neoconservatism, Paleoconservatism, Theoconservatism, and Libertarianism; and
  • the provocative ways in which Conservatism has interacted with differing political philosophies. These have involved not only challenging opposing views but just as often contributing to them, helping to produce both the rise of modern Liberalism and the emergence of the two-party system.

Learn about the People behind the Philosophy

As he traces Conservatism's development in both nations, examining the debate between Conservatives and their opponents and the internal debate between Conservatives themselves, Professor Allitt moves back and forth across the Atlantic, revealing the impact on both nations of ideas, events, and, above all, the powerful personalities who have left their marks on history.

  • John Stuart Mill, the British economist and philosopher whose writings on the philosophy of utilitarianism and free markets, on the one hand, and advocacy of equal rights for women and minorities and freedom of speech and thought, on the other, have led both Conservatives and Liberals to claim him as a founding voice
  • Ayn Rand, the Russian émigré novelist and philosopher whose work influenced a generation of Libertarian thinkers, including former Federal Reserve chairman Alan Greenspan, once a member of her inner circle
  • Francis Schaeffer, the Christian evangelical theologian credited not only with coining the term "secular humanism" but with helping spark the rise of the Christian Right

In addition, Professor Allitt shows you the contributions made by other major theorists and practitioners, including Adam Smith, Henry Adams, Alexander Hamilton, William Pitt the Younger, Winston Churchill, Margaret Thatcher, and Ronald Reagan.

And he takes you deep inside the Conservative movement to reveal the influence of voices from other parts of the culture, such as journalists H. L. Mencken and William F. Buckley Jr. and economists Ludwig von Mises and Friedrich von Hayek.

A Neutral Examination Both Sides Can Learn From

As you listen to Professor Allitt discuss the fascinating history of Conservatism, you'll likely be surprised to discover, whether your own leanings are Conservative or Liberal, how much of your side's views came from or were influenced by the other. You'll gain a more rounded understanding of not just your point of view but of the opposing side's, as well.

By the end of this course, you'll have an enhanced appreciation of the development of a philosophy that, Professor Allitt reminds us, has been "perhaps the dominant phenomenon of recent American politics" and how it has impacted both sides of the political spectrum. Whether you consider yourself a Liberal or a Conservative—or something in between—The Conservative Tradition can make you a more effective and informed citizen, armed with a sharpened understanding of the ways in which this philosophy has influenced events around the world.

Hide Full Description
36 lectures
 |  Average 30 minutes each
  • 1
    What Is Conservatism?
    The opening lecture explains some definitions of Conservatism and previews Professor Allitt's approach to exploring its rich and varied lineage in both Britain and America and its fund of ideas and principles. Each is explored within the context of contemporaneous historical events and debate. x
  • 2
    The Glorious Revolution and Its Heritage
    In gaining a grasp of Tory ideas about politics during the early years of Parliament's supremacy, you learn much about the roots of English Conservatism, including Lord Bolingbroke's comments about what we now call the "loyal opposition." His views would influence generations of subsequent English and American politicians. x
  • 3
    Burke, Tradition, and the French Revolution
    Learn about the ideas of Edmund Burke, the Whig politician whose Reflections on the Revolution in France is regarded by many Conservatives as the founding text of their political creed. His book, written after the conflict's early stages, counseled respect for tradition and avoidance of radical change. x
  • 4
    Pitt and the Wars of the French Revolution
    Prime Minister William Pitt the Younger was to Conservatism's politics what Burke was to its theory. Learn why he is probably the one man to whom it is easiest to trace the growth of Britain's Conservative Party. x
  • 5
    The American Revolution
    The underpinnings of America's revolution were really as "un-revolutionary" as could be. See how many of its leaders actually looked back to a long British tradition of liberty under limited government and the heritage of the Glorious Revolution, and how large numbers of the populace remained loyal to the crown. x
  • 6
    The Federalists
    Strongly influenced by the Western political tradition, America's Constitution can be seen as a very conservative kind of revolutionary document. Learn about the Federalists' role in creating and passing it and their dismay over the eventual changes in national direction brought by Thomas Jefferson and his party. x
  • 7
    Conservatives in the American South
    Southern plantation owners wanted to be left to their own devices, without the federal government imposing its power on their states. Explore how these desires combined with unapologetic racist justifications for slavery to shape the face of southern Conservatism. x
  • 8
    Northern Antebellum Conservatism
    See how concerns over President Andrew Jackson becoming a tyrant—with democracy turning into mere demagoguery—became the catalyst for the formation of a new political party. The Whigs drew their nucleus from remnants of the Federalist Party in New England and prosperous businessmen throughout the Union. x
  • 9
    Opposing the Great Reform Act
    A mood of romantic conservatism in early 19th-century England pitted Conservatives against reform movements like Catholic emancipation and the Great Reform Act of 1832. See that Conservatives vigorously resisted passage of such bills, which began the slow process of making Britain a parliamentary democracy. x
  • 10
    Robert Peel and the Conservative Revival
    Follow the career of Robert Peel, who built the modern Conservative Party. Although he presided over a great Conservative revival, his rivalries with Benjamin Disraeli and William Gladstone created a party rift. x
  • 11
    Smith, Ricardo, Malthus, Mill
    Take a ride on the swinging pendulum of political definitions as you meet the pioneers of free-market capitalism. The same principles now considered bulwarks of modern Conservatism then marked them as radicals, with some of their admirers even now referring to them as "classical Liberals." x
  • 12
    Conservatism and the American Civil War
    Can the Civil War be considered the clash of two Conservative philosophies? Judge for yourself as you see conservative southern states secede from the Union while northern Conservatives refused to acknowledge their secession as legitimate. x
  • 13
    Industrialists, Mugwumps, Traditionalists
    With American industrialization accelerating after the Civil War, at least three different brands of Conservatism surfaced, including the "Gospel of Wealth" argued by Andrew Carnegie; the older Republican values of the "Mugwumps"; and the longing for an even more-distant past evident in the works of Henry Adams. x
  • 14
    Disraeli and Tory Imperialism
    Meet Benjamin Disraeli, the outsider who converted from Judaism to Anglicanism and enjoyed a meteoric ascent through the ranks of the Conservative Party. Creating much of the structure of the modern Conservative Party, Disraeli remained an inspirational figure to the party for more than a century. x
  • 15
    The Rise of Labour and the House of Lords
    Although the American trade union movement never created a political party of its own, you see how Britain's union movement did just that, with the founding of the Labour Party in 1900 carrying powerful implications for both the Liberal and Conservative parties. x
  • 16
    The Idea of Anglo-Saxon Supremacy
    Racism was intellectually respectable in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, with Anglo-Saxons seen as destined to rule the rest of the world. Explore how this idea influenced Conservative thought in Britain and America. x
  • 17
    No Vote for Women
    While today's belief is that men and women are similar in all essentials except the most physical, articulate Britons and Americans in the early 20th century were more struck by the differences. Explore how this different perspective made itself felt in the debate over suffrage for women. x
  • 18
    American Conservatives after World War I
    Under a trio of Conservative Republican presidents, the 1920s was a period of prosperity throughout the United States. Examine how isolated Conservatives—including groups known as the New Humanists and the Southern Agrarians, along with journalist H. L. Mencken—deplored this turn to materialism. x
  • 19
    Opposing the New Deal
    The onset of the Great Depression would transform American Conservatism. Explore how Conservatives reacted to both the New Deal and to arguments over whether America should stand behind Britain in defending European civilization in the Second World War, or remain aloof from a conflict in which the nation had no vital interest. x
  • 20
    The Tory Party from Bonar Law to Churchill
    Britain entered the interwar years sobered and psychologically wounded by the First World War. Learn how a string of Conservative leaders, though holding power much of this time, offered mediocre leadership until the crisis of the oncoming war forced the party to turn to Winston Churchill. x
  • 21
    The Reaction to Labour and Nationalization
    Gain insight into the reasons why Churchill, in spite of victory, was repudiated in 1945 by an electorate to whom he represented the wrong kind of Conservatism: backward-looking, elitist, and dedicated to class distinctions and empire. Although he would eventually lead the Conservatives back to power, he was unable to reverse the massive political and economic changes of the postwar years. x
  • 22
    American Anticommunism and McCarthyism
    American Conservatives, already afraid of Socialism, were horrified by the militant Communism of Lenin's Bolsheviks. See how anticommunism gradually became one of the defining features of postwar American Conservatism. x
  • 23
    American Traditionalists
    While McCarthyism was making headlines in the early 1950s, a quieter, self-identified Conservative movement was also taking shape and becoming intellectually influential. This lecture explores some of the thinkers prominent in this movement, including Ross Hoffman, Richard Weaver, Russell Kirk, Walter Lippmann, and Peter Viereck. x
  • 24
    Libertarianism
    See a third strand of the new American Conservatism emerge in the 1950s, as Libertarianism joined anti-Communism and traditionalism. Its adherents had virtually unlimited faith in the powers of the free market, deplored state intervention in the economy, and regarded personal liberty as the highest possible good. x
  • 25
    National Review and Barry Goldwater
    Enjoy a front-row seat as Conservatism in America achieves a level of unity with the publication of William F. Buckley Jr.'s National Review in 1955. Anti-Communist, anti-big government, and sympathetic to traditional values—the magazine soon becomes the central journal of the Conservative movement. x
  • 26
    Upheavals of the 1960s
    Why did the Conservative movement gain adherents during the 1960s, despite the defeat of Conservative Republican presidential candidate Barry Goldwater? You'll grasp the answer in the galvanizing influence of the Vietnam War, the spread of affirmative action, and an increasingly activist—and often violently demonstrative—youth culture on college campuses. x
  • 27
    The Neoconservatives
    Among the sharpest critics of the new Conservatives in the 1950s were a group of Liberal social scientists, including Daniel Bell, Nathan Glazer, Samuel Huntington, and Daniel Patrick Moynihan. See how the unfolding social turbulence of the 1960s prompted them to begin thinking in different directions. x
  • 28
    The Neoconservatives and Foreign Policy
    In the 1970s Saigon fell, the Soviet Union built a world-spanning navy, and revolutions broke out in Iran and Nicaragua. See that the Neoconservatives—who had come to share the Conservatives' views on domestic issues—began to join them on foreign policy, as well. x
  • 29
    Christian Conservatives and the New Right
    For five decades, evangelical Protestants in America had avoided direct involvement in politics. You grasp how societal changes in the 1960s and 1970s—including feminism, the sexual revolution, gay rights, and the legalization of abortion—prompted some evangelical leaders to rethink their position. x
  • 30
    Margaret Thatcher's Counterrevolution
    Margaret Thatcher, a shopkeeper's daughter from Grantham, was an unlikely figure to rise to the leadership of the Conservative Party. Learn how she nevertheless became the decisive personality of her era and left an impression on the country as vivid as that left 40 years before by Winston Churchill. x
  • 31
    Monarchs and Prime Ministers
    Examine how John Major, the successor to Margaret Thatcher, consolidated her counterrevolution and gave further evidence that the Conservative Party was no longer the preserve of aristocrats. Meanwhile, see how the outpouring of grief at the death of Princess Diana in 1997 demonstrated the continuing emotional appeal of royalty and the monarchy's skill over three centuries of adapting to changing times. x
  • 32
    Reagan Triumphant
    You look at the rise of Ronald Reagan, who was to American Conservatism what Thatcher was to British Conservatism. Enjoying great personal popularity, he was able to make Conservatism seem normal, friendly, relaxed, and all-American, qualities it had certainly not exhibited in the 1950s and 1960s. x
  • 33
    The End of the Cold War
    When most of the Communist world collapsed at the end of the 1980s, American Conservatives were taken by surprise. Explore America's dilemma in navigating this strange new world. Should it withdraw into isolationism, or exert its power to influence all future global crises? x
  • 34
    Paleoconservatives and Theoconservatives
    Look at the arguments of those American Conservatives who were opposed to a foreign policy based on trying to democratize the world. Among them were the Paleoconservatives, which included southern descendents of the Agrarians; Libertarians; and the Theoconservatives, a group of ecumenical religious writers organized by Richard John Neuhaus. x
  • 35
    Culture Wars
    Focus on several writers, including Allan Bloom, E. D. Hirsch, Lynne Cheney, and Roger Kimball, who lamented what they considered a decline in civilization and civility. They argued that Conservatives had won the battle for national politics, but not the one for the souls of young Americans. x
  • 36
    Unresolved Paradoxes
    This final lecture summarizes the issues discussed in the course. See why, no matter how Anglo-American Conservatives react to new challenges, they have good reason, whatever their short-term anxieties, to approach the future in a mood of quiet confidence. x

Lecture Titles

Clone Content from Your Professor tab

What's Included

What Does Each Format Include?

Video DVD
Instant Video Includes:
  • Download 36 video lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
Instant Audio Includes:
  • Download 36 audio lectures to your computer or mobile app
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE audio streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps
Video DVD
DVD Includes:
  • 36 lectures on 6 DVDs
  • 160-page printed course guidebook
  • Downloadable PDF of the course guidebook
  • FREE video streaming of the course from our website and mobile apps

What Does The Course Guidebook Include?

Video DVD
Course Guidebook Details:
  • 160-page printed course guidebook
  • Suggested readings
  • Questions to consider
  • Timeline

Enjoy This Course On-the-Go with Our Mobile Apps!*

  • App store App store iPhone + iPad
  • Google Play Google Play Android Devices
  • Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Kindle Fire Tablet + Firephone
*Courses can be streamed from anywhere you have an internet connection. Standard carrier data rates may apply in areas that do not have wifi connections pursuant to your carrier contract.

Your professor

Patrick N. Allitt

About Your Professor

Patrick N. Allitt, Ph.D.
Emory University
Dr. Patrick N. Allitt is Cahoon Family Professor of American History at Emory University, where he has taught since 1988. The holder of a doctorate in history from the University of California, Berkeley, Professor Allitt-an Oxford University graduate-has also taught American religious history at Harvard Divinity School, where he was a Henry Luce Postdoctoral Fellow. He was the Director of Emory College's Center for Teaching...
Learn More About This Professor
Also By This Professor

Reviews

The Conservative Tradition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 82.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liberal praise for The Conservative Tradition Historian Patrick Allitt possesses encyclopedic knowledge. In every one of his lecture series, I am regularly impressed with the content and the coherence of what he presents. In this series, he does not fail to satisfy the expectations of this rather critical viewer. I hope that future historians will be able to make sense of the current chaotic political and social moments the way Professor Allitt has organized and illuminated the past.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Review of Anglo-American History The lecturer here is extraordinarily learned - he moves back and forth with ease between Great Britain and the U.S. - makes intellectual history riveting, always weaving in the historical context. Whether you think you like or dislike the Conservative tradition is largely irrelevant- there is a great deal of very worthwhile content.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting I am only 4 sessions into the course but thus far it has been interesting to see what conservatism was at its inception. Look forward to seeing how it evolved into the ideology we see today.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Feel More Educated This is an excellent course no matter what your political affiliation may be. The professor does a very good job walking through the history of the Anglo-American conservative political tradition. He follows a rough chronology, bouncing back and forth between the United States and Great Britain. He gives equal wait to both the historical context and the philosophical basis of the different ideologies covered in the course. I learned a great deal, and I feel more educated.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Masterful and fair Masterful descriptions of conservative outlooks in the United States and Britain, compared and contrasted within historical contexts from the late 1680s to 2000. Professor Allit intentionally leaves events of more recent years out of this intellectual history course. He strives to present all of the course material without overt bias; as an independent voter who more often votes for Democratic candidates, I think he succeeds. He brings out strengths of conservatism while also pointing out weaknesses in that overall view of the world. Professor Allit clearly explains both events and concepts, and adds appropriate touches of humor. Highly recommended to everyone interested in understanding political viewpoints, regardless of which views you now personally hold.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now I understand After taking this course, I learned many of my beliefs on American political party positions were wrong. This course set me straight. The instructor was engaging, Now I can better understands political rhetoric in the media and in my day-to-day interactions with friends, acquaintances.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Here is my excellent review I bought these episodes because I listened to Patrick Allitt's series on "Victorian Britain". I wasn't really interested in Victoria or Britain or Victorian Britain....to be honest, I'm not really interested in anything. And yet, I felt energy surging through my ligaments and arteries when I listened to that particular course. So, I figured "maybe I should listen to another course by Professor Allitt." That's how I came to listen to "The Conservative Tradition". I choose this course because it had a pretty, pastoral picture on the website, and since I've always heard that you can easily judge a book by its cover, I made the purchase. And I'm glad I did. I should say first off that I don't consider myself a conservative....or a liberal, for that matter. If you were to corner me in a dark alley and force me to divulge my political sympathies, I would have to confess that I'm generally a granforbian with the occasional shinkelfarb tendencies. It really has to do with my upbringing in a different galaxy. It's sometimes hard to escape one's childhood. So what is so great about this course? First, its breadth. Professor Allitt traces Anglo-American conservatism from the early modern period up nearly to the present day. This course might need an addendum because there seems to be some wacky things going on today, but that's a different story. Second, Professor Allitt is particularly sensitive to historical context. Some of the views he describes are clearly outdated, but he explained why they may have made some sense to people living when they did. Third, as a result of this course's guidebook and bibliography, I have started checking out some of the books that Professor Allitt mentioned. So, I guess you could say that this course "fueled my curiosity" as if the topic were gasoline and my curiosity were an internal combustion engine. I'm glad that's just a metaphor....otherwise I'd be concerned about the explosion risk. One of the books Professor Allitt mentioned was Nock's "Memoirs of a Superfluous Man". What a wonderfully strange book that I wouldn't have known about had I not listened to these brilliant lectures.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Can't download audio to my Samsung device. How do I get my money back?
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprises and Explanations The Conservative Tradition_Alllitt As others have said, this course was much needed. The twists and turns Professor Allitt outlines show that: 1. Conservative thought is adaptive: issues change and the same thought process leads to different conclusions from different beginnings. This is certainly not the image of the “stodgy, set in their ways” conservatives that I often hear; 2. I was quite surprised and grateful to see that when a social liberal viewpoint proves beneficial rather than wasteful, conservatives adapt to it. SURPRISES: the very early conservative fear of the rising power of merchants and bankers as corrupting influences, Burke’s emphasis on the hazard of apparently benign principles (ie: the unpredictability of policy), the independent evolutions of religious and conservative traditions; the reasons for Adams’, Washington’s, and Hamilton’s rejection of democracy, the financial irresponsibility and slave-breeding for profit of Thomas Jefferson, the recognition by Adam Smith and Thomas Malthus of the non-linearity of economics (concepts not mathematically described until the 1980s), how Darwin has been used to justify human super-achievers like Andrew Carnegie (and perhaps some today in their own mind?); how conservatism outlived mass religiosity; the disappearances of the secular New Humanists who insisted that mankind has a higher spiritual destiny than consumerism, reservations about democracy and mass society, vivid examples of liberalism “eating their own”, how old some of the issues really are, etc. The fragmentation of our current Congress may also be explained in part by the 6 thrusts of recent Conservatism: 1. Anti-communist: an arena in which it was vindicated; 2. Paleoconservativism: wisdom of history & “Ideas Have Consequences”; 3. Libertarianism: individualism, Hayek, Ayn Rand objectivism and Alan Greenspan; 4. Neoconservativism: Norman Podhoretz: “Why Are All the Jews Liberals” et al, the law of unintended consequences, the decline mediating structures between the Feds and the public, the “new class” which thrives in bureaucracy and adversary culture; 5. Christian Conservatives: divided about whether to concentrate on saving souls or become involved in social reform; 6. Theoconservatives and Father Richard Neuhaus – a cerebral man who strengthened Catholic conservatism and influenced Carl Rove and George Bush. Allitt sums up his ideas in L36: conservatives have long noted how democracy can enable demagogues to thrive. Though there have been recent reversals, conservatism has an extraordinary adaptability to changing circumstances. I agree with others that the course is even-handed and useful to all but the most inflexibly self-centric.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Informative and Substantive I was pleased that this course was not just about theories of Conservativism, but really gets into some important aspects of British and American history. Professor Allutt is always entertaining, but sometimes I have felt that he just finds great primary sources and doesn't get as much into the history as I would like, but this course really is more specific, but none of the Professor's charm and wit are lost.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from (Almost) Everything you wanted to Know about... ...Conservatives, But were Afraid to Ask (apologies to Woody Allen). As a life-long intellectually leaning liberal, I found this a magnificent course, while noting some of the flaws mentioned in some other reviews. I'm hopeful that something on this order will be coming soon from the TC on liberal thought--it would be a fantastic two part series (while we're at it, why not a course on Karl Marx?)
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great course As a progressive from California, I am endlessly trying to understand the conservative point of view and I had not previously found such a great overview and history of conservatism. I truly appreciated the professors objectivity and perspectives.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comprehensive view of modern conservatism Prof. Allitt's lectures are excellent: fact-filled, delivered well, with wit and the right level of irony, and without any attempt at imposing his view on the viewer. He covers "modern" (i.e., 1800-present) conservatism in the UK and English speaking North America. This course is a favorite among the several Great Courses we have viewed. I'd recommend it without hesitation to both liberal and conservative friends.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deep Dive Into Conservatism from past to present I first encountered Professor Allitt in his portion of the lectures on American History. I thought he was excellent then. In this course, he approaches this topic from the standpoint of the intellectual conservative movement. His knowledge is deep and his presentations excellent. I've taken numerous great courses in history and his is one of the best. I very much appreciated his survey of the intellectual development of the movement and now understand the intellecutual underpinnings and evolution of the American presidency to the present. This course explains much of the theory of what we are now seeing in the United States. A great series of lectures. And a clear indication of the goals of the conservative movement for the future. I took the audio download and felt as though I lost nothing by doing so.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting perspective This course is focused on a rather narrow aspect in political thinking: the conservatives... The first question, naturally enough, that comes up iswhat conservatives are? Professor Allitt explains that a conservative is whoever wants to keep the status quo as is and resists change. The content of what they believe may be important, but has nothing to do with them belonging to the conservative camp or not. So in a way, conservatism is not an ideaology within itself, it is more of a mindset or a ideaological temperament. Professor Allitt points out that in many cases, conservatives of later eras supported policies that originally were extremely radical. The heart of the course, like all of Professor Allitt's courses, follow central conservative thinkers starting with the most famous conservative of all - Burke. The central traits and ways of thought of conservative thinkers, as they eveolved through the ages, are conveyed by studying these central figures. In many ways, the course can be thought of as a survey of the history of conservative thinking from the 18th century onwards. It is important to point out that although the course talks about an unqualified conservative tradition, it is actually only focused on Anglo- American conservative history. As in all of his courses that I have heard - I found Professor Allitt to be a wonderful lecturer, providing profound insight and seasoning the lectures with entertaining comments. Overall this has been an interesting course, and I learned quite a lot about a subject I knew quite little. In all honesty, however, I personally did find the subject matter all that fascinating. This has to do only with my scope of interest in the topic and no fault of Professor Allitt's in my opinion.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent review of conservative tradition in USA (Confession: I am a registered Democrat.) Overall I am completely pleased with this course and can recommend it to anyone who want to learn more about conservatives in the USA and UK. My primary test of a course is whether or not I enjoyed it, and this course gets a solid A. My one minor complaint is that the importance of religion in conservatism is not given enough weight – yes, the Prof is from the UK where conservatives need not be religious, but most of the people taking this course do not live there. The doctrine of Biblical creationism is given relatively little attention, considering how vitally important it is for American conservatives. One 2015 poll indicated that 37% of Republicans accept evolution. (Yes, now we all know bad polls can be.) As an Anglophile I was not too much put off by the extensive coverage of conservatives in the UK, but many people might not want to get that much info on this particular topic. What about other non-US conservative groups? Opus Dei? Christian Democratic Union in Germany? National Front in France? Is Professor Allitt conservative? That was not obvious to me one way or the other. He certainly did not seem to be hostile. On the other hand, I have read reviews of one of his other courses where some people felt he was unsympathetic to Christianity, with perhaps a significant unfairness to Mormonism. This gets complicated, because as I said before, in the UK you can be a true conservative and not be religious, unlike the US. Video aspect ratio seems to be off, stretched in the vertical direction. This may be the fault of my local installation, and shows up on several courses. This problem does not occur for courses which have been produced in the last few years. I expect to take more Patrick Allitt courses, perhaps “American Religious History.”
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The ever shifting "conservative" position This is an excellent review of conservative thought over time. For those not more familiar with political thought, the difference between intellectual conservativism, as it has been understood over the last 200 years, versus political slogans is worth understanding, regardless of your politics. The professor does have a subtle message regarding his own view, but leaves it up to the audience to identify that message and make up their own mind.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Informative The professor does a great job of presenting common themes of the conservative movement that have continued throughout history while the ideology and the world have evolved. The professor is very even handed in discussing the material in what could be an easily biased course. I highly recommend it to anyone, but especially conservatives who want to know more about the roots of the ideology like me.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exploring America's Roots This course and Professor Allitt win my nomination for one of the best that Great Courses has to offer! This series, beginning with The Glorious Revolution (1688-9) and running up to the start of the current century, tells the fascinating tale of thoughts and attitudes that became the foundation for modern conservatism. This skillful speaker, with his delightful British accent and pro-American attitude, presents to the listeners a spellbinding story complete with examples and anecdotes to make it exciting as well as informative. He assures us from the get-go that we will not be able to tell whether he himself is a political conservative or not and, to his credit, he keeps that promise. Throughout this presentation he maintains a totally neutral stance while skillfully providing both sides of every story including the American Revolution and the Civil War. Would that our current-day mainstream media follow that code! The accompanying workbook is well written and includes a Timeline summary as well as a glossary at the end. I highly recommend this course for those who enjoy revisiting America's role in the scheme of things and the background of what makes it tick.. I bought this course a year ago on DVD and am currently watching it again with equal enjoyment and enthusiasm
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course This is an excellent idea for a course, and Dr. Allitt's execution is thoroughly satisfying. Regardless of one's political views, it is important to grapple with the thinkers that Allitt presents, all the more as he wisely chooses a "big tent" approach that considers conservatism in all of its diversity and its rich, productive contradictions. In fact, some of the figures he discusses (Smith and Mill for example) are important to the development of liberal thought. Allitt is sympathetic but also willing to be critical of the individuals he discusses, and I believe that both conservatives and anti-conservatives, if they are open-minded and thoughtful, will enjoy this course. I learned a great deal about important figures of whom I knew little, such as Pitt the younger and Robert Peel. His coverage of topics such as slavery, women's suffrage, and racism is humane but nonetheless avoids presentist condemnation of people who, like us, are products of the cultures to which they were exposed. Allitt's exploration of the American Revolution is fair-minded and will provide food for thought for those who have only considered it from the perspective of the Revolutionaries. I had a few quibbles here and there, such as that he was perhaps a bit reductionistic in his critique of Daniel Patrick Moynihan, or that he devoted too little attention to the first President Bush, who, as much as Reagan, brought the Cold War to a peaceful conclusion and represents the sort of judicious foreign policy that would be familiar to an earlier conservative statesmen such as Castlereagh (whom, for that matter, I would also have liked to have received more attention from Dr. Allitt). My biggest complaint is that Allitt limits his topic to thinkers from the Anglo-American tradition. On the other hand, exploring conservative thought from other cultures would have made for a very long course indeed. I enjoyed Dr. Allitt's presentation and accent. I should note that I listened to the audio version, and it was so engrossing that it gave me added incentive to get to the gym.
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautifully balanced presentation A beautifully balanced presentation by a gifted Professor with clear, crisp, elegant speech style. A pleasure to listen to.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eye opener In an nutshell, this should be required viewing for all Conservatives to fully understand the basis of Conservatism. Professor Allitt is easy to listen to and knows the subject and is able to pass that knowledge on. You won't be disappointed by this course.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course on Conservatism Enjoyed this course and the constant comparison with England and US was beneficial. Helps one to understand some of what is happening today. Even though today we have quite a bit of challenges between the two parties it is apparent now that even in the past and throughout history the challenges of the divergent opinions was always present due to strong opinions and beliefs by others. It would be interesting to have seen what might have happened if in the past they had the media we currently have and the access to this onslaught of media bombardment. I suspect that because of this we can no longer as effectively communicate as in the past since the day of one-liner criticism appears to prevail today and the constant demonizing of another person that differ in their opinion or beliefs. Very good course and will recommend to others and look forward to other courses. Thanks
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh, integrative view of US and European History For those who love history from the viewpoint of those living in the times studied, holding our value judgments aside, this course is a must. My view of the American experience was altered, and I would say corrected. The course weaves together events in the US and Europe across a broad sweep of time, providing views we had not considered. Use of writings from the time, clear, cogent explanations, along with superb, practiced presentation skills make this course a true A+. My husband and I both found this course absorbing -- and his background is chemistry. We listened while driving to the beach, and the course made the drive a delightful trip instead of a boring time on the expressway. Learn something new every drive!
Date published: 2015-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining history, but not deep in ideas I have just discovered Prof. Allitt, having recently listened first to American Religious History and now The Conservative Tradition. Delightful chap, fun to listen to. (But I couldn't help thinking that I was being lectured by Wallace of the "Wallace and Gromit" animated movies! Uncanny voice resemblance. I half expected him to pause the lecture at some point and ask Gromit to "Pass the Wensleydale.") Seriously, as much as I enjoyed this one, I was a little disappointed at the end. At the start, Allitt suggested that conservatism is much more than "privilege defended by the privileged," and as a dyed-in-the-wool progressive, I was eager for insight into what makes such people tick, what are the proof points for their views. But in the end, it became apparent that virtually all of the conservative thinkers and ideas presented were just that: the privileged defending their privilege. Which only confirmed my progressive suspicions. The few disruptive innovators with exciting new ideas, like Smith, Ricardo and Mill, were viewed as dangerous radicals in their day rather than conservatives, as Allitt acknowledges, and only later were claimed by conservatives as among their icons once conservatism had caught up with those liberal innovations. The rest? Wallowing in nostalgia for the good old days, standing in the way of human social progress. And I already knew that.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This May Be Patrick Allitt’s Finest Hour This is the fourth course by Prof. Patrick Allitt which I have taken from TGC and by far my favorite of his. I used the audio version, because I like to listen at the gym or in the car, and this course is more about ideas than visual illustrations. (I also enjoy listening to the Prof’s engaging regional British accent.) Over the course of 36 lectures (and I could have listened even longer), we cover the history of conservatism in England and the USA over the past 300 years. Allitt balances his lectures nicely between theory, personality, and historical events. His lectures are peppered with quotes from the writers who shaped the meaning of the word “conservative,” and he left me wanting to follow up the course with a substantial amount of reading. The course ends at the year 2000, and was recorded before David Cameron became Prime Minister of the UK, so don’t expect any discussions of current politics. Allitt began the series by setting a goal of being unbiased in his presentation. I believe he succeeded admirably. He presented conservative leaders and their ideas “warts and all,” but in a sympathetic and even-handed way. It will help conservatives understand their heritage more thoroughly, and help others get a better idea of where their political opponents are “coming from.” My only criticism of the course is the sparse course book. Each 30-minute lecture is boiled down to one or two pages of bare-bones outline, without any of the best quotes or a detailed reference list. I was disappointed more than once after listening to a lecture, to discover that the bit of information I wanted to track down in the course book wasn’t there at all. I don’t want to pay the large fee for the complete course transcript, so I guess I’ll have to listen again and take written notes myself.
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Course! Professor Allitt's lectures are warm, engaging and deeply insightful. This course is a must for every student of political history and theory. A great value that covers a wide breadth of material through skillful and interesting anecdotes.
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good at 36 lectures - great at 24 or 30 I enjoyed this course and got a lot out of it. Prof. Alitt is a wonderful lecturer, and I greatly enjoyed his course on Victorian England and another on the History of the British Empire. I summarize this course as one that's good at 36 lectures but would have been superb at 24 or 28 lectures: it was a bit too detailed for me, spending time on minor people and influences that I didn't really need to learn about. But, I learned an immense amount, particularly about the Glorious Revolution, Edmund Burke, William Pitt, Peele, Disraeli and Gladstone, and more. I also found the discussion of the conservative tradition in the context of the American Revolution, US Civil War, and so on quite illuminating.
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting and informative... While the beginning of this series was a bit slow and dry for my taste, it gathered steam and ended up being very, very enjoyable. Professor Allitt is an engaging and extremely knowledgeable lecturer. If you have any interest in the history of conservative thought and tradition, this course will give any listener an excellent introduction.
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong course though rather dry presentation DVD REVIEW: This is a course which has been researched, assembled & fine-tuned to present a very strong, cohesive and quite in-depth history of the conservative position. There is substantial detail in the lectures, which concentrate on British and American conservatism, showing how they are similar but different. Close attention is given to the structure & principles of conservatism from the 17th century to date. The lectures were recorded in 2009. I greatly enjoyed Professor Allitt's comparing George Washington to the classical hero Cincinnatus. I've reviewed other courses by this English professor, graduate of Oxford, PhD from California at Berkleley, and here again he delivers, though the presentation is quite non-charismatic! Dr Allitt has a fine, mildly reserved style; he looks very smart in his neat suits & ties. His slight regional English accent should not be any problem for North Americans. He hails from Derby in England, which I visited recently: he may not easily recognise it today for there is now a heavy immigrant presence & culture. Dr Allitt's voice is clear, distinct, though he occasionally gets his words twisted, and I was suprised to hear "Scotch" instead of "Scots" or "Scottish" for the nationality. He does not allow personal convictions to influence or colour his teaching: in fact he virtually challenges you to figure out where his own politics are! I suspect to the left. Dr Allitt suggests (does not opine however) that the American Revolutionary War could be considered more of a civil war than the American Civil War itself. This is the sort of controversial concept that heightens the value of his courses. His teaching on English/American political strife is fascinating. Politics in the west today to a great extent comprises conservative versus liberal, so these lectures can be applied to our own era, throwing a lot of light on today's political clashes. Whether you lean to the left or right, this course will prove useful and helpful, as well as being enjoyable and even entertaining. For me, the talks are a 1st-class investment that I doubt can be bettered any time soon. Recommended but be prepared for some very dry material! Footnote: the DVD version includes hundreds of quality graphics/pictures, and archival film of war action.
Date published: 2013-03-28
  • y_2019, m_9, d_22, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_4812, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 57.04ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Customers Who Bought This Course Also Bought